Writing About Love….My Poem Valentine for My Daughter

Valentine for my Daughter

Don’t grieve.
No one knows
the day or hour
your world will tilt,
your blood will sing,
forever or not.

You’ve been there
more than once,
as have these friends
who gather here
to commiserate,
to castigate
the empty
envelope.

Some
never find
a Valentine,
at least not as
in Hallmark verse,
for better or for worse.
Some do.
We wonder why.

From other room,
I hear your laughter,
I hear no sound
of grieving.

I listen as you celebrate
your friendship
and the bonds
that you have formed
since you were girls.

Please know.

Together,
you are not alone,
today or any other.

Leave a Reply

