My Poem…Precaution

Precaution
Although my mother
has been gone ten years,
sometimes, surprised,
I catch her image in the mirror
of my face, of my life.

Trajectories
were different, yet,
when we talked together,
two women shared
a common ground.

From childhood,
she had watched,
learned to navigate
a man’s world.

“I remember the day
my mother voted
for the first time,
proud and excited…
not so very long ago.”

I recognized a cautionary tale…
sometimes what men decide to give,
they may try to take away.

One thought on “My Poem…Precaution

Leave a Reply

