Writing About Depression Poem 2 Safe

In part one of my reflection on writing about depression, I posted the poem Now.  To best understand my poetry about this, it is probably important to read that earlier post/reflection.  But this one, I think, stands on its own.  After all, once a poem or piece leaves our hands, eventually it will meet a reader, a reader who will make their own meaning from it.   The poem Now was about pain and anxiety.  This one, Safe, focuses on a moment of respite in the middle of a bout of depression. I think it is hopeful.  In that moment, I felt safe and sensed a foreshadowing of healing. 

Safe

Slats

of blind

dissect the moon,

 

cast silver bars

across the pillow.

 

In custody

of night I find

strange safety.

 

In darkness

now, I write

a testament

to light.

Leave a Reply

