Taking Prose to Poem Ocean….to…Carolina Beach

Something that I do as a writer, unconsciously I think, is to reflect on something in prose, and as I do so, I realize this is really a poem, or the beginning of a poem, or a fragment of a poem. Then the work begins.  My prose post, Ocean, led to a poem.  Three of my prose reflections posted on this site earlier are also leading into poems. I thought maybe other writers out there might be interested in how this has worked for me here.  I’m also wondering if other writers do this, also, and how it works for them.  We all use a number of different ways to generate, gather, and form our work into what feels right to us. This is just one of mine.  I’m now in the process of submission of this poem to a journal.  Of course, like many writers, I take rejection well : )  If you do read on, remember that the formatting on this site is double-spaced, so it appears much longer.  This is actually single-spaced primarily. I hope you enjoy this and/or find it helpful.

Carolina Beach

I dig my toes

into the damp

and grainy sand

packed firm,

beyond the reach

of ebbing tide.

 

Pulled

by ancient

fascination

I, too,

step forward

into vastness.

 

Waves

crest, gentle,

at my aging knees,

I do not stagger

 

until

the water rises up,

resistant,

 

to crest,

            crash,

smash

each obstacle

 

down

to ocean floor,

 

but I

have been here

many times before.

 

Synchronous

with ocean’s pulse.

 

I dive,

            rise,

under,

            over

every surge,

 

exultant

in my body’s power.

 

At last,

I reach

calm, open water,

 

that is not ready

yet

to hurl itself

against the shore,

 

instead,

 

content

to rise and fall

in gentle swells,

 

to cradle

my tired body.

 

Here,

rocked,

 

like a small child

on a mother’s lap,

 

I rest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

